LIGO Lab Members Elected APS Fellows

Update October 8, 2018: Rana X. Adhikari (LIGO Caltech) and Lisa Barsotti (LIGO MIT) have been elected the 2018 APS Fellows. Congratulations to Rana and Lisa from all of the Lab!

This is a listing of LIGO Lab personnel who have been elected APS Fellows throughout the years:

2018: Rana X. Adhikari (Caltech); Lisa Barsotti (MIT)
2017: Eric K. Gustafson (Caltech)
2016: Valery V. Frolov (LLO); Michael Landry (LHO)
2015: Dennis Coyne (Caltech); Daniel Sigg (LHO); Alan Weinstein (Caltech)
2012: Scott Hughes (MIT)
2010: Nergis Mavalvala (MIT)
2009: Joseph A. Giaime (LLO/LSU)
2008: Michael Zucker (MIT)
2007: Albert Lazzarini (Caltech)
2006: Frederick J. Raab (LHO)
2005: Peter K. Fritschel (MIT)
2002: Stanley E. Whitcomb (Caltech)
2001: David H. Shoemaker (MIT)
1998: Ronald W.P. Drever (Caltech)
1996: Rainer Weiss (MIT)

(Source: APS Fellows Archive)

About APS Fellowship:

"The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who may have made advances in physics through original research and publication, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. They may also have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service and participation in the activities of the Society."

"Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. Each year, no more than one half of one percent of the Society’s membership (excluding student members) is recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow of the American Physical Society."

More at the APS website

Popular Posts