Stanley Whitcomb is the Recipient of OSA's 2018 C.E.K. Mees Medal

The Optical Society (OSA) has named Stanley Whitcomb (LIGO Caltech, retired) as the recipient of its 2018 C. E. K. Mees Medal, "for pioneering, interdisciplinary contributions to the development of LIGO gravitational-wave interferometers." The award was established in 1961 and aims to recognize an original use of optics across multiple fields. Whitcomb, who joined the nascent field of gravitational-wave research in 1980, was central to the evolution of LIGO from a scientific concept to a national research facility with a legacy of groundbreaking discoveries. During his years at LIGO, Whitcomb contributed to many of its aspects and served in various scientific and leadership roles, his most recent one being the LIGO Laboratory's Chief Scientist.

OSA Press release

About C.E.K. Mees Medal

Image: OSA

Popular Posts