LIGO's Weiss, Thorne, and Barish Awarded the 2017 Cocconi Prize

LIGO founders are recognized by the European Physical Society.

The European Physical Society (EPS) has awarded Rainer Weiss (LIGO MIT); Kip S. Thorne (LIGO Caltech); and Barry C. Barish the 2017 Guiseppe and Vanna Cocconi Prize for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology, "for their pioneering and leading roles in the LIGO observatory that led to the direct detection of gravitational waves, opening a new window to the Universe." The Prize is awarded biannually, "for an outstanding contribution (experimental or theoretical) to Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology in the last fifteen years." EPS is a non-profit association of 41 National Physical Societies of Europe, research institutions, and individuals in various disciplines of physics.

Congratulations to Rai, Kip, and Barry!

Image credit: European Physical Society.