LIGO Founders Receive the 2016 Shaw Prize

Ronald W.P. Drever, Kip S. Thorne, and Rainer Weiss are the recipients of the 2016 prize.

LIGO founders Ronald W.P. Drever (Caltech), Kip S. Thorne (Caltech), and Rainer Weiss (MIT) have been awarded the 2016 Shaw Prize in Astronomy, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced. The three leading researchers are recognized "for conceiving and designing the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), whose recent direct detection of gravitational waves opens a new window in astronomy, with the first remarkable discovery being the merger of a pair of stellar mass black holes," according to the prize announcement. The $1.2 million prize is awarded annually.