LIGO Founders Awarded the 2016 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

Ronald W.P. Drever, Kip S. Thorne, and Rainer Weiss win the 2016 prize. Update 6 Sep: The Award is presented at a ceremony in Oslo.

Three founders of LIGO -- Ronald W.P. Drever (Caltech); Kip S. Thorne (Caltech); and Rainer Weiss (MIT) -- have been awarded the 2016 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics. The prize is awarded every two years and carries a $1 million cash award. The award citation reads: "... the direct measurement of the tiny space-time ripples required the sustained vision and experimental ingenuity of Drever, Thorne and Weiss, spanning most of the last 50 years, as individual scientists and later as intellectual leaders of a team of hundreds of scientists and engineers."

Update 6 Sep 2016: The Kavli Prize is presented to (below, l-r) Ian Drever (representing his brother Ronald); Rainer Weiss; and Kip S. Thorne by Crown Prince of Norway Haakon at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway:

Winners Astro

Image credit: The Kavli Prize

Popular Posts