LIGO Members Receive Gruber Cosmology Prize

The Gruber Foundation has announced the award of the 2016 Gruber Cosmology Prize to LIGO's Ronald W.P. Drever (Caltech), Kip S. Thorne (Caltech), and Rainer Weiss (MIT) for the detection of gravitational waves.

From the Foundation's press release: "The 2016 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize recognizes Ronald Drever, Kip Thorne, Rainer Weiss, and the entire Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) discovery team for the first observation of gravitational waves, ripples in space-time predicted by Einstein a century ago."

Founded by Peter and Patricia Gruber and based at Yale University, the Gruber Foundation makes it its mission to recognize significant contributions in several major areas of science and human rights. The Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize has been awarded annually since 2000 and carries a gold medal and a cash prize of $500,000. It is awarded in recognition of discoveries leading to fundamental advancements in the field.

Popular Posts