Nine LIGO Staff Honored at the 2012 Caltech Service Awards

At the 2012 Caltech Service Awards ceremony, the institute honored this year nine LIGO scientists, engineers, and administrators for their many years of dedication and service to LIGO and Caltech. The 57th Annual ceremony took place Thursday, June 7, and recognized over 200 staff members for service ranging from 10 to 45 years. In his welcome speech Caltech President Jean-Lou Chameau highlighted the careers of three members of staff, including LIGO's own Hiroaki Yamamoto. Chameau detailed Hiro's work first on the high-energy physics experiment, GEM, as well as Hiro's current position as a Senior Research Scientist in the simulation and modeling of the LIGO detectors. The full group of LIGO personnel honored this year were: Dave Adamczyk (10 yrs), Michael Fyffe (15 yrs), Julie Hiroto (25 yrs), Richard Riesen (15 yrs), Kyle Ryan (15 yrs), Paul Schwinberg (10 yrs), Cheryl Vorvick (10 yrs), Hiroaki Yamamoto (20 yrs), Igor Yakushin (10 yrs). In total, this group represents 130 years of service to LIGO and Caltech. Congratulations and thanks to all our valued staff!

Popular Posts