OSA Awards the C.E.K. Mees Medal to LIGO's Stanley Whitcomb

The Optical Society of America (OSA) has announced that Stanley Whitcomb is the recipient of the 2018 C.E.K. Mees Medal, "for pioneering interdisciplinary contributions to the development the LIGO gravitational-wave interferometers." Whitcomb, along with Ronald Drever in 1980s, constructed a 40-m prototype LIGO interferometer. He served as the LIGO Chief Scientist until his retirement in 2016. The OSA website states that the award is "presented to a recipient(s) who exemplifies the thought that 'optics transcends all boundaries.'" and that it "recognizes an original use of optics across different fields." More at the award's page.

Popular Posts