Three LIGO Lab Members Elected APS Fellows

Three LIGO Lab members were elected Fellows of the American Physical Society in 2015. From the APS website: "Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. [...] The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education."

LIGO's 2015 APS Fellows include:

Dennis Coyne: For extraordinary engineering leadership in the construction of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO) Laboratory and the Advanced LIGO Detectors.
Daniel Sigg: For development of techniques essential to the successful high-sensitivity operation of gravitational wave detectors and leadership in commissioning the LIGO detectors.
Alan Weinstein: For leadership in developing and testing the new generation of gravitational wave detectors, data analysis and searches for astrophysical sources of gravitational waves, and making LIGO data available to the broader community.

Congratulations to Dennis, Daniel, and Alan!
Full list of APS 2015 Fellows on the APS website.

Popular Posts